The Rotary Club of Nashoba Valley has awarded scholarships to Madeline Powers, Kylie Nelson, Aidan Dow, and Ian Winiarski for this year’s Rotary Youth Leadership Awards (RYLA) conference. Sydney Gulliver of Lancaster and Rebecca Emken of Stow were selected as alternates.
Robert Johnson, RYLA Committee Chair, said the students will be among the more than 200 Massachusetts high school sophomores who will attend the RYLA Conference at Fitchburg State University on June 26-28. To be chosen, they needed to demonstrate leadership potential and good citizenship characteristics and show a strong desire to attend and benefit from the conference.
Aimed at developing the leadership potential of young men and women, the conference will feature interactive Leadership Labs, exciting guest speakers, and challenging mental and physical activities. Additional topics will include decision-making, critical thinking, communicating effectively, ethics, and public service.
For more information or to volunteer at this event, visit or contact Robert Johnson at, 978-875-3143.
Find more information about the Rotary Club of Nashoba Valley at